Battle of Crete Memorial Committee

The Committee

The Battle of Crete Memorial Committee WA (The Committee) was established in 2016 as a subcommittee under the auspices of the Greek Australian Returned and Services League Incorporated (GARSL). The principle role of The Committee is to manage the Battle of Crete Memorial Project which involves the design, construction and maintenance of a new memorial in Kings Park Western Australia. In advocating this memorial, The Committee seeks to commemorate the courage, sacrifice, and commitment of those who served and endured the Battle of Crete.

GARSL by virtue of its identity and Constitutional objectives is well placed to act as lead agency for this project. The Committee is similarly well placed to execute this function on behalf of GARSL and to manage this project.

The Committee comprises suitably qualified and experienced personal to pursue the delivery of this project.  It is therefore very well credentialed with its members having a very wide range of expertise and knowledge, including military history.

All Committee members are volunteers and have participated in the management of this project using their own resources and time.


The Committee is proud to have the support of his Eminence Archbishop Makarios, Primate of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia as a Patron of this organization.

Additionally, Mr Richard Sandover agreed to be co-patron of The Committee and its cause.  (The Sandover name is well known to the Western Australian community and in Australian military history with Brigadier R L Sandover DSO ED, serving various appointments during the second world war including Commander of the 2nd/11th Battalion 1941-1943 and Commander 6th Brigade, 1943-1945.) Click here to read his personal storey in the Personal Histories section of this website.

Committee Members

Mr Bill Evangel

Dr John Yiannakis OAM

Mr John Dombrose

Dr Ken Michael AC

MAJ Michael McDonald RAINF (Ret’d)

CMDR Phil Orchard AM RAN (Ret’d)
Representing RSL WA

Mrs Catherine Papanastasiou

Mr Manoli Yeroyianakis